San Casciano

Most of the vineyards of the UGA San Casciano are rooted on the ancient alluvial deposits between Val di Pesa, to the west, and Val di Greve, to the east, with the exception of the strip of vineyards extending from Santa Maria a Macerata along the northern side of Poggio la Croce, reaching first Pieve di Santo Stefano a Campoli and then Quattro Strade (as can be observed by rotating the second image 180 degrees).
The area is therefore quite uniform geologically and in terms of landscape, a sort of upland marked by slight differences in altitude and by long valleys which cross it in a north-south direction. Not being able to analyze each valley one by one, we chose those that are better suited to a description through images.
The first valley, the widest and easiest to identify, is that of the Terzona stream, which divides the ridge of Montefiridolfi from the rest of the communal territory and then flows into the Val di Pesa, whose unmistakable shape marks the western border of the Chianti Classico denomination.
At the northeastern extreme of the commune, in the direction of Monte Albano, lies Cerbaia whose vineyards extend along the valley of the Sugana, which alone among the main streams has an east-west axis. Another exception is in soil type, which, at least in the highest part of the valley, near La Romola, shows a significant outcrop of Macigno (the same formation as the base of Chianti Mountains).
It is hard to summarize in a few images the eastern side of the commune, due to the winding course of the Val di Greve and its hollowed contours that provide few observation points that guarantee a wide and detailed view. The only real exception is the area between Mercatale Val di Pesa and Quattro Strade, characterized by a series of narrow ridges descending westward toward the Val di Greve where we find the highest concentration of vineyards.


How to use

As simple and intuitive as the use of panoramic images may be, some clarifications and suggestions seem in order.

  1. The expression Unità Geografica Aggiuntiva (UGA) applies to a specific and precisely delimited area within the Chianti Classico denomination. Some UGAs correspond to an entire commune, others to a portion of one, others result from the unification of parts of two communes.
  2. When a UGA corresponds to the area of a single commune, the name of the UGA has been shortened (San Casciano in Val di Pesa becomes simply San Casciano) or the use of the specification “in Chianti” has been avoided to avert useless repetitions on wine labels. Gaiole in Chianti becomes Gaiole, and Panzano in Chianti, which is not a commune, becomes Panzano. The names of Castelnuovo Berardenga, a commune, and San Donato in Poggio, which like Panzano is not a commune but a hamlet, remain unchanged.
  3. At the moment the use of UGA is foreseen only for Chianti Classico Gran Selezione wines.
  4. Coming now to the introductions to each UGA, the greater or lesser number of images used in the virtual tours depends on the overall shape and size of their territories. Some can be illustrated with few images and others require more detail. It follows that the different number of images in no way implies a difference in importance of one UGA with respect to another.
  5. To navigate between the different images within each tour, use the thumbnails below, above the command bar. To rotate the images to the right or left, drag them with the mouse or with your fingers, if you are using a phone or a tablet.
  6. In each image you will find names that identify geographical references and/or toponyms. Use them to orient yourself as you move from one panorama to another.
    The colors used for the different names have three different functions. In white are the names of farms and villages within the Chianti Classico DOCG. In red are the names of communes, hamlets, mountains and hillocks within the same borders. In blue are the names of places located outside the territory of Chianti Classico DOCG. Some of them, such as mountains and hills, have been inserted to contextualize Chianti Classico with respect to other areas of Tuscany that many users will already know.
  7. The recognized UGAs within the production zone of the Chianti Classico appellation are eleven. Starting from northwest and, moving generally clockwise, they are: San Casciano, Greve, Lamole, Montefioralle, Panzano, Radda, Gaiole, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Vagliagli, Castellina and San Donato in Poggio.