Geographic Units

The capital cities of the Chianti Classico territory are Florence and Siena, it covers an area of 70,000 hectares between the two provinces.
A significant new step is underway in the form of a project, approved by the Members’ General Meeting last June, to subdivide the Chianti Classico production zone into smaller and more homogenous areas, the names of which will be shown on the labels. 
According to national and European regulations, PDO wines can be linked to Additional Geographic Units, specified within the DOC production zone.

The objectives include reinforcing communication of the wine-territory combination, increasing quality in terms of identity and territoriality, allowing consumers to know where the grapes come from and, last but not least, stimulating demand by differentiating the offer.
For this reason, eleven areas have been identified and delimited within the Chianti Classico production area, distinguishable on the basis of specific criteria such as oenological recognisability, historical significance, renown, and significance in terms of volumes produced (see map).
The Additional Geographical Units will come into force once the bureaucratic process for approval of the modifications to the production regulations has been completed and will be applicable, in this first phase, only to the Gran Selezione type.

next page