The Chianti Classico territory’s capitals are Siena and Florence and it is shared between the provinces of the two municipalities. The zone amounts to 71,800 hectares (177,500 acres) and includes the entire territories of the municipalities of Castellina in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti, Greve in Chianti and Radda in Chianti and parts of those of Barberino Tavarnelle, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Poggibonsi, San Casciano Val di Pesa.

The characteristics of the climate, terrains and altitudes, which are unfavorable for most crops, have made Chianti Classico a region that excels in the production of premium wines.

Rows of vines alternating with olive orchards are a characteristic feature of the Chianti landscape. About 7,200 hectares (17,290 acres) of vineyards entered on the DOCG Register for the production of Chianti Classico make this appellation one of the most important in Italy.


» Differences between Chianti Classico and Chianti


Name Chianti Classico DOCG
Year of birth 1716: the borders of the production zone are delimited
Total area of the territory 71.800 ha
Total vineyard area 10.000 ha
Vineyards registered as Chianti Classico 7.200 ha
Average annual bottle output (last 10 years) 35/38 million
Average annual output (last 10 years) 275.000
World Export Exported in about 130 countries worldwide
Consorzio Vino Chianti Classico members 580
of which bottlers 376